Flashy Nails

One young lady's attempt to master decent nail art!

Another Stargazer Swatch and an unmitigated Konad disaster! July 31, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jennifer @ 11:53 am
Tags: , , ,

Hi, I’m back 🙂

Today I have some pictures for you of the red Stargazer polish I showed in my haul.  Unfortunately it doesn’t have a number sticker on the bottle, and I’ve just been through all the colour swatches of all the different ypes of polish on the Stargazer website and I can’t for the life of me figure out which colour it could be.  Their swatches are so weird.

Anyway, I really loved this colour, it’s a GORGEOUS cherry red, absolutely stunning.  It does have a bit of a gold shimmer to it too.  My only disappointment is, it didn’t dry very well.  It stayed pretty soft for ages afterwards, in fact I had painted it on, taken some pictures and left it a good 45 minutes or so, then started to wash some dishes and wrecked the whole manicure, as it was just not dry enough.  So I’m not sure what happened there.  I also tried to Konad over it and I will show you what happened there!  My nail ended up being painted THREE times yesterday, in the space of a few hours.

Here are some pictures:

So those were all with two coats, one base coat and no top coat.  Then I did dishes and it totally broke.  I’d also like to say, this polish was on for literally an hour, hour and a half tops, with the same base coat I always use, and when I took it off, even after such a short time it had TOTALLY stained my nails.  I never really get any staining so I don’t know what happened there.  So, I re-did it but as I’d always intended to Konad over it, I only did one coat this time.  The colour wasn’t that much different really.  Sorry by the way for the crappy clean up on these.

So I wanted a full nail, and was gonna do it with China Glaze OMG, as I haven’t Konaded with a non Konad polish for so long!  And I thought the two would go together really well.  SO I set up all my stuff, sat on the floor, and decided to use the full nail argyle pattern from plate M60.  The stamp picked up the polish properly, the polish was fine, I pressed it on my thumbnail using my usual technique….and only half the design stuck.  I thought it might be the China Glaze even though I’ve Konaded with it before, so I took as much of it off as I could without damaging the red underneath (resolving to do a second coat when I’d Konaded the others) and set to with the Silver Special Polish on my other fingers.  The same thing happened again!  Here is a picture:

No what the hell is the deal with this!!  This has NEVER happened to me before.  I don’t know if it was the Stargazer or I was just really unlucky or what.  But, the upshot was, off came the red, and I decided to repaint with the green (135) which I will show you later.  I was wanting to Konad this too but I don’t know if I dare!

Has anyone else had this problem?

Thanks for reading!  😀

 

2 Responses to “Another Stargazer Swatch and an unmitigated Konad disaster!”

  1. Lucy Says:

    That is such a pretty color. Love it on you. What a shame with your application. That’s never happened to me. Then your Konad is going insane! So sorry with all your nail polish problems. Hope there aren’t anymore!

  2. Oh, bad nail days! I understand!

    I always use CND Air Dry topcoat over my polishes and I do my Konad right after cleaning up around my cuticles. I have had the problem you experienced where the design doesn’t adhere to the nail. Doing the Konad over the topcoat seemed to eliminate the variable of certain polishes not providing a good canvas. I also find that if I don’t do the Konad immediately after clean-up, oils from skin, hair, moisturizer, petting the cat…can affect the ability of the stamp to transfer. I hope that helps!

    The color is so pretty. It glows and glows!


Leave a Reply

