Flashy Nails

One young lady's attempt to master decent nail art!

Swatch – Button Moon July 15, 2009

Firstly, thank you all so much for your lovely comments on my wedding pictures!  It’s always nice to hear that your wedding dress is beautiful, and that you look like a great couple, so thank you!

Last night I swatched Button Moon.  I had received some Fimo Fruits from Ebay and really wanted to try them and it was a choice between Button Moon, BMX Bandit or Hoola Hoop for my base colour, and my lovely husband made the choice of Button Moon for me.  Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures of it ‘naked’ as it were, because as soon as the second coat started to go tacky I pressed the fruit slices into it. 

Application wasn’t as bad as I expected, maybe I’m getting used to cremes now, I just slop a big glob on there and sort of push it around my nail with the brush, rather than brushing it on.  It does mean there’s usually some clean-up to be done though and you don’t get a tidy like around the cuticle, as you’ll see from my pictures. 

Inside Under artificial light

Inside Under artificial light

Inside under artificial light again

Inside under artificial light again

Outdoors, overcast

Outdoors, overcast

Outdoors, overcast again, (those black lines on the middle nail and my fingers are cat hairs as my friend Pebbles wanted in on the action!)

Outdoors, overcast again, (those black lines on the middle nail and my fingers are cat hairs as my friend Pebbles wanted in on the action!)

It is VERY like Streamer by George at Asda, in fact here is a picure of them side by side:

Streamer and Button Moon

Streamer and Button Moon

Button Moon is a more aqua green that Streamer, which reminds me of a chalky colour.  Like hospital walls or something.  (I’ve never seen a hospital with walls that colour, it’s just the association I have!)

I’m a bit tired of cremes at the moment so I may hold off swatching any more of the Hot Looks (and I still have Barry M Green Glitter to swatch too), I fancy some China Glaze OMG I think 🙂

 

Thanks for reading 😀

 

3 Responses to “Swatch – Button Moon”

  1. Lisa Says:

    I love yoiur manicre and your blog at all, i am so happy i know it now . Thanks

  2. Lucy Says:

    I love that shade of polish on you. Very pretty and the fruits are adorable. Do you knock them off? I was afraid if I ordered any I would be losing them from my nails. Your husband did a good job choosing that shade.

    • Thank Lisa!

      Lucy, I haven’t knocked any off yet. I did a little bit of light dish washing earlier, but that’s about the most manicure-unfriendly thing I’ve done all day so I can’t really vouch for the safety of the fruits. I did stick them into tacky nail polish though and I made sure I put a good thick coat of TC over the top. I reckon they’d be pretty safe, but as I say, washing hair or something like that, might be an issue.


Leave a Reply

