Flashy Nails

One young lady's attempt to master decent nail art!

A Little about me… July 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jennifer @ 4:54 pm
Tags: ,

Ok I’m not going to do a big survey thing, as they’re quite boring, but I’ll tell you some bits and pieces about me, and as requested, there are going to be more wedding pictures at the bottom of this entry.

I’m 26 (just – my birthday was July 6th) and I live in Teesside in the North East of England.  I married my gorgeous and wonderful husband last year on April 18th, and we have been together for almost four years.  We have no children and no pets.  I don’t want children, but I would like pets!  (A cat at the very least!) 

I was an only child until I was 12.  My parents divorced when I was 8, and when I was 12 my mum and stepdad had a daughter and then when I was 14 my dad and stepmum had a son, followed by twin girls when I was 18.   So I went from being an only child, to having four siblings in the space of six years! 

I consider myself pretty well educated, last year I completed my Degree in English Studies.  I LOVE to read.  It is my first passion.  Nail art comes a close (very close!) second.  In fact I have spent a lot of money on books since my birthday last week, I have bought 16 new books.  I can’t wait to read them.  I read almost anything but not too much into sci-fi or crime novels.  I love Toni Morrison’s work.  Amazing.

I am a self employed Wedding Photographer, and have been for two years now.  I also have an online shop retailing nail art supplies which I link to more than enough in this blog so I will refrain in this entry!

I passed my driving test last March after six months of lessons and since then I’ve: had two parking tickets (one I got out of becuase I HAD in fact paid to park and they thought I hadn’t), been stopped by the police (for a driving offence which I didn’t do – no charges pressed as they realised they were wrong) and dented my door when reversing along the side of something, oops! 

Enough of the trivia, here are some wedding pictures!  (I know that’s the bit you all wanted really!!)

My gorgeous flowers

My gorgeous flowers

My cheeky husband (He painted his nails but you cant see here)

My cheeky husband (He painted his nails but you can't see here)

I cant say how much I LOVE this picture

I can't say how much I LOVE this picture

We live by the beach.  It was a very cold and windy April day, typical British weather.  As you can see, I was prepared with my lovely cloak!

We live by the beach. It was a very cold and windy April day, typical British weather. As you can see, I was prepared with my lovely cloak!

He. Is. SO. Gorgeous!

He. Is. SO. Gorgeous!

Attitude!

Attitude!

One of my favourites.  We have this MASSIVE size in B&W in our living room.

One of my favourites. We have this MASSIVE size in B&W in our living room.

*Blush*

*Blush*

He designed my tattoo.  One star for each of my siblings :0)

He designed my tattoo. One star for each of my siblings :0)

Sweeping me off my feet.  (Check out the pretty shoes!)

Sweeping me off my feet. (Check out the pretty shoes!)

 

So there you go, some pictures of my wedding day.  As I said I’m not into tradition really – although I did follow the something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue rules – I borrowed a cross from one of my Stepmum’s necklaces and made my choker with it, My dress and shoes were of course something new, something old was a ring I left on which I wear all the time which I’ve had for years, and I had my mum sew a tiny little blue satin bow onto my knickers!  My bridesmaids (my three sisters) were in black, I haven’t included any pictures with anyone else on though as I don’t think they’d be too pleased to see themselves online!!

 

Thanks for reading!  😀

 

15 Responses to “A Little about me…”

  1. Lucy Says:

    Thanks so much for giving us some background. Your pictures are lovely. I love the choice you made for wedding gown and flowers. You are going non-traditional gown wise. You look so happy and beautiful. Your husband is adorable and I did catch his black painted nails. What books did you buy? I love to read also but I’m on the computer so much that I don’t do enough of it.

    • Well I could list the books I bought but it would take a while as I’ve bought so many recently! I will however recommend the Ken Follett books, World without End and The Pillars of the Earth. Not the type of thing I normally read but I read The Pillars of the Earth and it was fantastic!

  2. Selina Says:

    *squeak* your dress is so gorgeous! How would you describe the colour? I’m guessing by the way it flashes different colours that it’s something like a shot satin? Love the embellishment on the bodice.

    I want to get married again, it’s so much fun looking so pretty! Oh and, you know, all the stuff about marrying the one you love etc etc. But mostly I just want to look like a princess!!!

    • Haha yeah I totally understand that Selina! The colour I would have described as iridescent purple, and yes it does changes colours, it’s a bit like a duotone polish! It is a non shiny heavy satin. It’ so beautiful. I tried it on again last night, I have been wanting to Rock the Dress, but I’ve put on some weight and I can no longer fasten it up!

      Lucy – rudely I only responded to your comment about the books. Thank you for your comments on my dress and flowers 🙂 We are happy and I think on that day we did both look awesome! I usually don’t liike myself in pictures but I look at my wedding pics and think I look lovely. 🙂

  3. Lina-Elvira Says:

    WOW!! I *love* your dress! 😀 You make a really adorable couple, you really look like you were made to be together!

  4. beth Says:

    Nice blog and a very beautiful and lovely couple. May god shower all blessings on you

  5. Sorry so late on the comments! Gorgous! What’s even better than the dress and all that is that you two look REALLY happy and in love 🙂

  6. Missy Says:

    What gorgeous pictures! Y’all look so absolutely happy together. 🙂

  7. kelliegonzo Says:

    awesome dress, so dope! i love love love it girl!

  8. Pamela Says:

    Loved your dress you looked very pretty in it.


Leave a Reply

